Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (7)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that occurs here; we bloggers post about the books that we'd really like to read now :).

Both of these will be release May 24th!

Hourglass by Myra McEntire

One hour to rewrite the past . . .

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.
So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.
Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?

Full of atmosphere, mystery, and romance, Hourglass merges the very best of the paranormal and science-fiction genres in a seductive, remarkable young adult debut.

Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.

+Hourglass sounds fantastic--a mix of paranormal and sci-fi?  Normally I don't read sci-fi, but the last mix I read was Across the Universe and that one was terrific!  Plus, the synopsis hints at it being quite the thriller :).  Would love to know what happens!
+Blood Magic - yes!  Did I not just squeal over Becca Fitzpatrick's books in my last post?  But even so, blood magic in itself seems intriguing, something a few fantasy books mention but hardly ever focus on, you know?  Plus dark and disturbing--those are too few in this field.
+(Also LOVE the covers of both of these!!)

What are you waiting on this wednesday?

(If it happens to be Dreamland Social Club, check out this giveaway.  Or if it's one of the Caster Chronicle books, check out this giveaway.  Or :D if it happens to be The Goddess Test and you buy & read it before Saturday, join me and some other bloggers in a live chat discussion of it!)


  1. Definitely excited about both these books too. Have them on my wish list. Great picks!

  2. I'm excited about these two as well! Especially Hourglass! I can hardly contain my excitement over it. Great picks!


  3. Both of theses sound great. I'm especially intrigued with Blood Magic. Nice choices!

  4. Excellent picks. Both of these are on my wishlist.

  5. LOL, as it happens, I AM waiting for Dreamland Social Club! I will enter your giveaway. :)Thanks!

    I really can't wait to read this one either, I've heard great things!

    Jess @ Gone with the Words

  6. This looks pretty interesting; might need to pick this up. I would love if you checked out my WoW too!

    Btw, LOVE THE BLOG... I quickly became a NEW follower.

    Looking forward to hearing back from you,
    Cory @ Anti-Drug Reads

  7. Thanks so much for stopping by! Hourglass looks amazing! I can't wait to read that one!

  8. I'd like both of these, although I think I want Blood Magic just a bit more than Hourglass!

    Btw, I didn't make my background. I don't remember where I got it. I thought there was a link somewhere or at least the name but it might be covered up by my sidebars.


Thanks for visiting my blog! Please make sure to indicate your blog name so that I can return the favor later :).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...