Monday, July 8, 2013

Christina Read: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Release Date: March 9, 2010 
(at least the version I linked to)
Published by: Harper Teen
Recommended by: Shaira

Christina Reads Your Recommendations is a regular Monday feature here (inspired by A Reader of Fictions' Sadie Hawkins Sunday) in which you, my readers, get to choose what book I will read and review next. Got a book that you love and want everyone to read and review? That you're not sure what to think of and want a second opinion on? That you think I'll love or that I should have already read? Send in your recommendations via this form!

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

In this lyrical, absorbing, award-winning novel, nothing is as it seems, and every clue leads to more questions.

At age eleven, Taylor Markham was abandoned by her mother. At fourteen, she ran away from boarding school, only to be tracked down and brought back by a mysterious stranger. Now seventeen, Taylor's the reluctant leader of her school's underground community, whose annual territory war with the Townies and visiting Cadets has just begun. This year, though, the Cadets are led by Jonah Griggs, and Taylor can't avoid his intense gaze for long. To make matters worse, Hannah, the one adult Taylor trusts, has disappeared. But if Taylor can piece together the clues Hannah left behind, the truth she uncovers might not just settle her past, but also change her future.

Ten Likes/Dislikes

1. (+) Taylor Markham, the protagonist - Oh, Taylor. I really wanted to hug this girl. She can be so abrasive and she has trouble admitting that she needs people and she tends to run or avoid things that could hurt her. In short, she's so vulnerable... and yet also so strong, determined, and smart. To endure what she has and to thrive in a school for clever people, to lead her fellow House mates and to look for truths despite the pain they will cause - she is a remarkable heroine who undergoes such growth (seriously, jaw-dropping growth: I am in awe of this author's talent to bring together various plot threads on Taylor & making her that much more complex).

2. (+) World-building - I will admit to having felt some confusion with the story taking place in an Australian boarding school, but even if the terms were different, I understood the gist of what was being said (though I did wish I understood the school dynamics a bit more). Once the novel started, I appreciated all the details about Jellicoe Road and School - the House dynamics, the territory war between the Cadets, Townies, and Houses (and all the rules involved! the strategics!), the initiation phase for leaders, past and present accounts of the three groups and how the war started, the teachers and rivers and the Praying Tree and the history of the place. It was really refreshing to have such a unique twist on the typical high school narrative in contemporary YA. One thing, however, that I really wished for: a map of the Jellicoe School. It would have made it easier for me to picture the demarcations between Cadet, Townie, and House land.
3. (+) Romance - Jonah Griggs. Jonah Griggs. Jonah Griggs. Maybe if I write his name enough, you will understand how awesome this character is. He's not just there as a support, or a crutch on Taylor. He has his own growth to undergo, his own past to face. His characterization, secrets, and the truth of his moody stares--!!! So very intense and satisfying. Few couples actually make me feel something, but the history behind Taylor and Jonah and the way it interacts with their present was done remarkably well. Best of all, it felt real because there were arguments and tension-filled moments, yet they were both balanced by the sweet moments.
4. (+) Plotting - Even though I guessed the major twists less than halfway through, I still wanted to keep reading, at least to confirm my suspicions and for the emotional resonance of the story (definite pay-off there!)... and yet, there were some twists I didn't see coming, and at the end, I could only admire the intricate plotting and thought that went into creating this beautifully crafted novel.
5. (+) Characterization - There are a lot of characters in this novel. A lot. And yet each one had distinct motives and personality traits and there are so many lovable ones who are defined by just a few scenes, scenes that give you insight into who they truly are and how their connections to Taylor strengthen her character development. Narnie, Webb, Fitz, Tate, Jude, Sam, Griggs, Jessa, Chaz, Raffy, Ben, Santangelo's father, etc.
6. (+/-) The Beginning - I will say this: it was a bit hard for me to get into the story, because it's quite confusing at first. You're not really eased into the story, you're just expected to go along with it, though you won't get many answers for some while.... but the pay-off is definitely worthwhile.
7. (+) Themes/History - Love, grief, connections, history. One of the better parts of this novel, I think, is the way history ties into the world-building, the characterization and character connections/friendships (and not just between Taylor and everyone else but among the side cast), and the growth Taylor undergoes. The obvious impact and intermingling of past, present, and future went really with the lyricism of the writing.
8. (+) Writing - This is so beautifully written. It may be hard to get into at first, but there is a sort of dreaminess about the narrative (sometimes I was like: this is contemporary, right? Not magical realism?). It's the sort of lyricism and truth that reminds me of Maggie Stiefvater and Gayle Forman--what their styles would be like meshed together. Every time, I was taken anew not only by the beautiful descriptions but also by the way in which Ms. Marchetta wove plot threads and details together into this gut-wrenching story.
9. (+) Pacing - I already admitted to sometimes being frustrated that the secrets weren't all being revealed at once, but I could appreciate the careful grace in which everything came to light. The story has constant momentum for each of its (sub-)plots.
10. (+) The Cover - I'm assuming that's a poppy, and if so, it's beautifully appropriate, and I personally am a huge fan of the red paint and green scenery and title font.

I understand why this book won the Printz award. I understand why so many YA book bloggers champion Melina Marchetta. I understand, and I am going to read her fantasy series soon. Jellicoe Road is an intricately crafted masterpiece on the intertwining of love and grief, and what (or who) holds you together. Fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, for one, would enjoy this addition to YA contemporary lit, but I would recommend this novel to everyone.

Curious about the other titles that have been recommended for this feature? Well, up next is Pivot Point by Kasie West, since I actually own a copy of that. Afterwards: Of Silver and Beasts by Trisha Wolfe, Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett, Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith, The Queen's Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner, The Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty, and Looking for Alaska by John Green.


  1. Jellicoe Road is one of my all time favorites, and it's definitely one that's even better the second time around (believe it or not). So glad you enjoyed it!

    -Taylor @ Reading is the Thing

  2. I need to get it in gear and read this one. I was turned off after reading Finnick of the Rock.

  3. Yay! It's on my favorites shelf, so I probably will be reading it another time :)

  4. Really?? Why? Was the writing in Finnick not as great or the concept or?

  5. I'm SO glad you gave this a try. It's one of my favourite books of all time, and when I first read it, I rarely used to pick up contemporary novels at all. I do agree with you about the beginning. I think most people tend to find it confusing to start with (I definitely did), though, like you said, the patience is more worth it. And gosh... now you have me dreaming about Jonah Griggs again.

  6. It's become one of my favorite books of all time - added it to the books that define me as a YA reader, and I am still not a huuuge contemporary novel person either. And Jonah Griggs, Jonah Griggs, Jonah Griggs :). Feel free to dream about him again. Or reread the book :D

  7. The writing is so dense... I know I am the minority in this aspect.

  8. I have yet to her bad things about Melina Merchetta or the Jellicoe Road. People seem to love her and her writing, and that's why I bought the eBook a couple of months back. I still haven't read the book (procrastination sucks) but I will! and I can't wait to read her other Lumatere Chronicles. It's already sitting on my shelf.

    I heard several times that the first 100 pages are really hard to get into, so I'll have no problem with the beginning( hopefully). Great review, I like the way you lay out the points :D

  9. Yeah, Melina Marchetta is fan favorite in the YA community--kind of has her own followers as with the Pop Culture post. But Jellicoe Road is definitely well worth the read--I hope you won't have any trouble with the beginning! I'm probably going to start the Lumatere Chronicles soon :).

  10. I just recently listened to this on audio, and I agree, it was pretty phenomenal. It's made me want to pick up everything she's written. Especially Finnikin. I love fantasy, and I just know that series has to be epic.

  11. I just got my copy of FINNIKIN today, though I've heard the heart of the series is in the second book... and I can't imagine how beautiful Jellicoe Road would sound on audiobook -- I hope the narrator caught the wonderful, dreamy prose. :)


Thanks for visiting my blog! Please make sure to indicate your blog name so that I can return the favor later :).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...